Alcohol Ink · Fun Folds · Gerda Steiner Designs · Interactive

Gerda Steiner Designs: Happy New Year!

Heyyyyyyy! This week I recieved the newsletter freebie digital stamp ahead of time to make this fun promo card!

This digital stamp is free for newsletter subscribers today! Miss the newsletter? Click here to join the Gerda Steiner Designs mailing list and get a copy of today’s newsletter! It has the link to the freebie inside!

Yes I combined a simple fun fold Z-card with an Infinity Shaker panel haha. I love the pizzazz!

Z-fold cards are so easy once you try it! Essentially this is a regular card base that the top panel is just folded back over itself towards you. That’s it! Then just pick a smaller (than your A2 card front) panel that you only glue to the top fold of the card base, using glue only on the left half of your panel. Decorate with decorative paper or stenciling or however you want to decorate your card. If you have a darker card base or decorative paper or if you want to give yourself the guideline of where you can write and still be hidden behind that top panel you can cut out in white the exact same size as your top panel and glue it down as I did here. To get it lined up you can place your card with the card front face down on your table, put the white panel upside down perfectly lined up on that front panel, apply glue, and then shut the card. Then it will be perfectly behind that panel when the card is shut.

Remember you can do this with any card size or orientations (landscape or portrait). Just fold the top panel in half back over itself! To make my decorative paper panels I usually just measure the part I want to add to and subtract 1/4 in to get that 1/8 border I like.

I also went super easy with the infinity shaker panel. I like to use the plastic packaging or the card protector cello bags. I bought a few smaller ones just for this smaller panel use. I have visuals at the bottom in this post, or you can read below!

Slide the paper in add some microbeads or other shaker bits (I always add microbeads so it helps the shaker bits move around and if for some reason things get stuck the beads will still make the fun shaker noise! #cheat!). Then I use double-sided tape to fold over one side of the bag so it’s tight on the length of the panel and then I fold over and seal the top. Then you have a fully encapsulated panel and you can use double-sided tape to adhere it to your card :).

Want more inspiration? Head on over to Gerda Steiner Design’s Blog and join the Private Facebook Fan Group!

Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a comment